gazpacho

lela's gazpacho soup It’s my 45th birthday this week.

While my birthday is celebrated just 364 days each year, I’m sharing this recipe with you from one of mom’s favorite friends… Lela!

Funny, when I was a child, I didn’t even think twice about soup… and now I know I’ll love this gazpacho even before I eat it!

Get ready to cool off with this delicious foodie veggie favorite!

i. ingredients

1 – 1 pound can | stewed tomatoes
1 – 10-1/2 ounce can | condensed beef broth
1  cup | peeled chopped cucumber
1 cup | chopped celery
1 cup | sliced onions
2 tablespoons | lemon juice
1 small clove | garlic, finely chopped
to taste | fresh ground black pepper

ii. what to do

1. Combine all ingredients in a medium-sized pot.

2. Over medium heat, simmer gently until onions and celery are tender (about 10 minutes).

3. Served chilled.

Foodie Tip ~

  Try fine-chopping the vegetables for a smoother consistency.

Foodie Fun Fact ~

The coordinates on the back of the card? I don’t know the relationship to the recipe, but it looks like they were set in mom’s handwriting (not Lela’s.) Looks like the coordinates will set you in the Gulf of Mexico just outside Corpus Christi… one of our family’s favorite watering holes. Maybe there’s a buried treasure there?

Lela’s actual recipe card is below!

lela swinny's gazpacho recipe

Leave a Reply

