impossible taco pie

Go Loco For Taco

Mmmm... Taco Pie!This Pie Makes Its Own Crust ~ Total magic!

The idea of “magic” was something I was obsessed with when I was in 5th grade. I dreamed of being a professional magician after seeing a store display on Broadway Avenue… a mechanical magician who could perform tricks compliments of his table, a cup and a few eye-shifty shenanigans.

Oh, yeah… I was hooked.

Magically obsessed, one day I drug my Dad and best friend Sean to Central Park Mall to a magic shop. My eyes rest upon on a magic kit and I knew in a blink it was meant for me.

Dad selflessly bought me and Sean each the magic cred (I remember triple digits, so it was a big deal ~ especially in the 70s).

Back at our upstairs playroom at 2927 Trailend, complete with black light, cloth-covered table and my instruction manual cleverly tucked underneath, I performed ~ almost flawlessly ~ some of the tricks I could decipher.

This recipe? Totally easy to make. And especially easy and great to eat!

impossible taco pie ingredients

Ta Dah!

Let’s.
Make.
Magic!

i. ingredients

1 pound | ground beef
½ cup | onion, chopped
1 package | taco seasoning mix
4 ounces | chopped green chilies, drained
1¼ cups | milk
¾ cup | bisquick brand baking mix
3 | cage free eggs
2 | red tomatoes, sliced
1 cup | monterey jack or cheddar cheese, shredded
to garnish | ice burg lettuce, chopped
to garnish | red tomato, chopped

slice of heaven...ii. what to do

0. Preheat oven to 400°F.

1. Grease a 10½” pie plate and set aside.

2. Cook and stir beef and onion until brown; drain, then stir in taco seasoning mix.

3. Spread in pie plate and top with chilies.

4. With a blender or hand mixer, beat milk, baking mix and eggs until smooth; about 1 minute.

5. Pour into pie plate.

6. Bake pie 25 minutes then remove from oven.

7. Top with sliced tomatoes and cheese; return to oven and bake until knife inserted in the pie’s center returns clean (about 10 minutes).

8. Cool 5 minutes then top with sour cream, chopped tomatoes, shredded lettuce and cheese.

Serves 6-8 Texans

Great For Breakfast Or Dinner

Foodie Tips ~

Wanna spice up life? Add fresh diced jalapeños to the beef before you cook it. Adventurous!

Tre colori!

mom's impossible taco pie recipe. impossible? think again!





Leave a Reply

