what to plant in june

A picture of Portulaca from Betty's Cook NookA Rose By Any Other Name…

Funny how life sometimes just reconnects.

This post is just the second vintage gardening tip I’ve made at Betty’s Cook Nook and yet it rings true to my home and heart more than 50 years later.

Boom, Portulaca

Thumbing through Mom’s cookbook I decided to check out what was sprouting in her gardening section. I found the article (below) for what to plant in June.

Some of the plant names I *do not* recognize (sorry, vincas, lycoris and fire bush) … but one resonated 1,000% clear because I just planted this recently discovered summertime favorite in my very own yard ~ PORTULACA!

This plant is a voracious bloomer that makes every blooming hour a happy hour supreme. It’s a low maintenance Texas-lovin’ plant that will treat you to high impact awesomeness. Portulaca is referred to by many names like rock rose, moss rose and eleven o’clock.

For me what’s most amazing is that when I read the June gardening tips in Mom’s cookbook I saw “portulaca” … yet 2 months ago I didn’t even know its name.

Funny how life reconnects.

~ Patrick

Betty’s Son
Founder and “Nostalgic Food Blogger” of Betty’s Cook Nook

gardening tips ~

  My friend Amber who lives in Florida reminded me to finger snip off the blooms after their get-up-and-go has got-up-and-went. It encourages newer blooms.

  Portulaca will freely reseed. I read that if you plant it in a hanging basket to not be surprised if you have baby Potulacas sprout down below. Probably a good problem to have. :)

  You can likely find Portulaca sold in solid colors like yellow and white. But for me the multi-color magic route is the way to go!

What to plant in June from Betty's Cook Nook

What to Plant in June: A snap from Mom’s cookbook. PS ~ Here comes July!

 

Leave a Reply

